Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

CORRECTIONS
(730 ILCS 5/) Unified Code of Corrections.

730 ILCS 5/Ch. III Art. 3

 
    (730 ILCS 5/Ch. III Art. 3 heading)
ARTICLE 3. PAROLE AND PARDON BOARD

730 ILCS 5/3-3-1

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-1) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-1)
    Sec. 3-3-1. Establishment and Appointment of Prisoner Review Board.
    (a) There shall be a Prisoner Review Board independent of the Department of Corrections which shall be:
        (1) the paroling authority for persons sentenced
    
under the law in effect prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977;
        (1.5) the authority for hearing and deciding the time
    
of aftercare release for persons adjudicated delinquent under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987;
        (2) the board of review for cases involving the
    
revocation of sentence credits or a suspension or reduction in the rate of accumulating the credit;
        (3) the board of review and recommendation for the
    
exercise of executive clemency by the Governor;
        (4) the authority for establishing release dates for
    
certain prisoners sentenced under the law in existence prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977, in accordance with Section 3-3-2.1 of this Code;
        (5) the authority for setting conditions for parole,
    
mandatory supervised release under Section 5-8-1(a) of this Code, and aftercare release, and determining whether a violation of those conditions warrant revocation of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release or the imposition of other sanctions.
    (b) The Board shall consist of 15 persons appointed by the Governor by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. One member of the Board shall be designated by the Governor to be Chairman and shall serve as Chairman at the pleasure of the Governor. The members of the Board shall have had at least 5 years of actual experience in the fields of penology, corrections work, law enforcement, sociology, law, education, social work, medicine, psychology, other behavioral sciences, or a combination thereof. At least 6 members so appointed must have had at least 3 years experience in the field of juvenile matters. No more than 8 Board members may be members of the same political party.
    Each member of the Board shall serve on a full-time basis and shall not hold any other salaried public office, whether elective or appointive, nor any other office or position of profit, nor engage in any other business, employment, or vocation. The Chairman of the Board shall receive $35,000 a year, or an amount set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater, and each other member $30,000, or an amount set by the Compensation Review Board, whichever is greater.
    (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section, the term of each member of the Board who was appointed by the Governor and is in office on June 30, 2003 shall terminate at the close of business on that date or when all of the successor members to be appointed pursuant to this amendatory Act of the 93rd General Assembly have been appointed by the Governor, whichever occurs later. As soon as possible, the Governor shall appoint persons to fill the vacancies created by this amendatory Act.
    Of the initial members appointed under this amendatory Act of the 93rd General Assembly, the Governor shall appoint 5 members whose terms shall expire on the third Monday in January 2005, 5 members whose terms shall expire on the third Monday in January 2007, and 5 members whose terms shall expire on the third Monday in January 2009. Their respective successors shall be appointed for terms of 6 years from the third Monday in January of the year of appointment. Each member shall serve until his or her successor is appointed and qualified.
    Any member may be removed by the Governor for incompetence, neglect of duty, malfeasance or inability to serve.
    (d) The Chairman of the Board shall be its chief executive and administrative officer. The Board may have an Executive Director; if so, the Executive Director shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The salary and duties of the Executive Director shall be fixed by the Board.
(Source: P.A. 97-697, eff. 6-22-12; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-2

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-2) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-2)
    Sec. 3-3-2. Powers and Duties.
    (a) The Parole and Pardon Board is abolished and the term "Parole and Pardon Board" as used in any law of Illinois, shall read "Prisoner Review Board." After the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977, the Prisoner Review Board shall provide by rule for the orderly transition of all files, records, and documents of the Parole and Pardon Board and for such other steps as may be necessary to effect an orderly transition and shall:
        (1) hear by at least one member and through a panel
    
of at least 3 members decide, cases of prisoners who were sentenced under the law in effect prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977, and who are eligible for parole;
        (2) hear by at least one member and through a panel
    
of at least 3 members decide, the conditions of parole and the time of discharge from parole, impose sanctions for violations of parole, and revoke parole for those sentenced under the law in effect prior to this amendatory Act of 1977; provided that the decision to parole and the conditions of parole for all prisoners who were sentenced for first degree murder or who received a minimum sentence of 20 years or more under the law in effect prior to February 1, 1978 shall be determined by a majority vote of the Prisoner Review Board. One representative supporting parole and one representative opposing parole will be allowed to speak. Their comments shall be limited to making corrections and filling in omissions to the Board's presentation and discussion;
        (3) hear by at least one member and through a panel
    
of at least 3 members decide, the conditions of mandatory supervised release and the time of discharge from mandatory supervised release, impose sanctions for violations of mandatory supervised release, and revoke mandatory supervised release for those sentenced under the law in effect after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977;
        (3.5) hear by at least one member and through a panel
    
of at least 3 members decide, the conditions of mandatory supervised release and the time of discharge from mandatory supervised release, to impose sanctions for violations of mandatory supervised release and revoke mandatory supervised release for those serving extended supervised release terms pursuant to paragraph (4) of subsection (d) of Section 5-8-1;
        (3.6) hear by at least one member and through a panel
    
of at least 3 members decide, the time of aftercare release, the conditions of aftercare release and the time of discharge from aftercare release, impose sanctions for violations of aftercare release, and revoke aftercare release for those adjudicated delinquent under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987;
        (4) hear by at least one member and through a panel
    
of at least 3 members, decide cases brought by the Department of Corrections against a prisoner in the custody of the Department for alleged violation of Department rules with respect to sentence credits under Section 3-6-3 of this Code in which the Department seeks to revoke sentence credits, if the amount of time at issue exceeds 30 days or when, during any 12 month period, the cumulative amount of credit revoked exceeds 30 days except where the infraction is committed or discovered within 60 days of scheduled release. In such cases, the Department of Corrections may revoke up to 30 days of sentence credit. The Board may subsequently approve the revocation of additional sentence credit, if the Department seeks to revoke sentence credit in excess of thirty days. However, the Board shall not be empowered to review the Department's decision with respect to the loss of 30 days of sentence credit for any prisoner or to increase any penalty beyond the length requested by the Department;
        (5) hear by at least one member and through a panel
    
of at least 3 members decide, the release dates for certain prisoners sentenced under the law in existence prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977, in accordance with Section 3-3-2.1 of this Code;
        (6) hear by at least one member and through a panel
    
of at least 3 members decide, all requests for pardon, reprieve or commutation, and make confidential recommendations to the Governor;
        (7) comply with the requirements of the Open Parole
    
Hearings Act;
        (8) hear by at least one member and, through a panel
    
of at least 3 members, decide cases brought by the Department of Corrections against a prisoner in the custody of the Department for court dismissal of a frivolous lawsuit pursuant to Section 3-6-3(d) of this Code in which the Department seeks to revoke up to 180 days of sentence credit, and if the prisoner has not accumulated 180 days of sentence credit at the time of the dismissal, then all sentence credit accumulated by the prisoner shall be revoked;
        (9) hear by at least 3 members, and, through a panel
    
of at least 3 members, decide whether to grant certificates of relief from disabilities or certificates of good conduct as provided in Article 5.5 of Chapter V;
        (10) upon a petition by a person who has been
    
convicted of a Class 3 or Class 4 felony and who meets the requirements of this paragraph, hear by at least 3 members and, with the unanimous vote of a panel of 3 members, issue a certificate of eligibility for sealing recommending that the court order the sealing of all official records of the arresting authority, the circuit court clerk, and the Department of State Police concerning the arrest and conviction for the Class 3 or 4 felony. A person may not apply to the Board for a certificate of eligibility for sealing:
            (A) until 5 years have elapsed since the
        
expiration of his or her sentence;
            (B) until 5 years have elapsed since any arrests
        
or detentions by a law enforcement officer for an alleged violation of law, other than a petty offense, traffic offense, conservation offense, or local ordinance offense;
            (C) if convicted of a violation of the Cannabis
        
Control Act, Illinois Controlled Substances Act, the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, the Methamphetamine Precursor Control Act, or the Methamphetamine Precursor Tracking Act unless the petitioner has completed a drug abuse program for the offense on which sealing is sought and provides proof that he or she has completed the program successfully;
            (D) if convicted of:
                (i) a sex offense described in Article 11 or
            
Sections 12-13, 12-14, 12-14.1, 12-15, or 12-16 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012;
                (ii) aggravated assault;
                (iii) aggravated battery;
                (iv) domestic battery;
                (v) aggravated domestic battery;
                (vi) violation of an order of protection;
                (vii) an offense under the Criminal Code of
            
1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 involving a firearm;
                (viii) driving while under the influence of
            
alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof;
                (ix) aggravated driving while under the
            
influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds or any combination thereof; or
                (x) any crime defined as a crime of violence
            
under Section 2 of the Crime Victims Compensation Act.
        If a person has applied to the Board for a
    
certificate of eligibility for sealing and the Board denies the certificate, the person must wait at least 4 years before filing again or filing for pardon from the Governor unless the Chairman of the Prisoner Review Board grants a waiver.
        The decision to issue or refrain from issuing a
    
certificate of eligibility for sealing shall be at the Board's sole discretion, and shall not give rise to any cause of action against either the Board or its members.
        The Board may only authorize the sealing of Class 3
    
and 4 felony convictions of the petitioner from one information or indictment under this paragraph (10). A petitioner may only receive one certificate of eligibility for sealing under this provision for life; and
        (11) upon a petition by a person who after having
    
been convicted of a Class 3 or Class 4 felony thereafter served in the United States Armed Forces or National Guard of this or any other state and had received an honorable discharge from the United States Armed Forces or National Guard or who at the time of filing the petition is enlisted in the United States Armed Forces or National Guard of this or any other state and served one tour of duty and who meets the requirements of this paragraph, hear by at least 3 members and, with the unanimous vote of a panel of 3 members, issue a certificate of eligibility for expungement recommending that the court order the expungement of all official records of the arresting authority, the circuit court clerk, and the Department of State Police concerning the arrest and conviction for the Class 3 or 4 felony. A person may not apply to the Board for a certificate of eligibility for expungement:
            (A) if convicted of:
                (i) a sex offense described in Article 11 or
            
Sections 12-13, 12-14, 12-14.1, 12-15, or 12-16 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or Criminal Code of 2012;
                (ii) an offense under the Criminal Code of
            
1961 or Criminal Code of 2012 involving a firearm; or
                (iii) a crime of violence as defined in
            
Section 2 of the Crime Victims Compensation Act; or
            (B) if the person has not served in the United
        
States Armed Forces or National Guard of this or any other state or has not received an honorable discharge from the United States Armed Forces or National Guard of this or any other state or who at the time of the filing of the petition is serving in the United States Armed Forces or National Guard of this or any other state and has not completed one tour of duty.
        If a person has applied to the Board for a
    
certificate of eligibility for expungement and the Board denies the certificate, the person must wait at least 4 years before filing again or filing for a pardon with authorization for expungement from the Governor unless the Governor or Chairman of the Prisoner Review Board grants a waiver.
    (a-5) The Prisoner Review Board, with the cooperation of and in coordination with the Department of Corrections and the Department of Central Management Services, shall implement a pilot project in 3 correctional institutions providing for the conduct of hearings under paragraphs (1) and (4) of subsection (a) of this Section through interactive video conferences. The project shall be implemented within 6 months after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1996. Within 6 months after the implementation of the pilot project, the Prisoner Review Board, with the cooperation of and in coordination with the Department of Corrections and the Department of Central Management Services, shall report to the Governor and the General Assembly regarding the use, costs, effectiveness, and future viability of interactive video conferences for Prisoner Review Board hearings.
    (b) Upon recommendation of the Department the Board may restore sentence credit previously revoked.
    (c) The Board shall cooperate with the Department in promoting an effective system of parole, aftercare release, and mandatory supervised release.
    (d) The Board shall promulgate rules for the conduct of its work, and the Chairman shall file a copy of such rules and any amendments thereto with the Director and with the Secretary of State.
    (e) The Board shall keep records of all of its official actions and shall make them accessible in accordance with law and the rules of the Board.
    (f) The Board or one who has allegedly violated the conditions of his or her parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release may require by subpoena the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of documentary evidence relating to any matter under investigation or hearing. The Chairman of the Board may sign subpoenas which shall be served by any agent or public official authorized by the Chairman of the Board, or by any person lawfully authorized to serve a subpoena under the laws of the State of Illinois. The attendance of witnesses, and the production of documentary evidence, may be required from any place in the State to a hearing location in the State before the Chairman of the Board or his or her designated agent or agents or any duly constituted Committee or Subcommittee of the Board. Witnesses so summoned shall be paid the same fees and mileage that are paid witnesses in the circuit courts of the State, and witnesses whose depositions are taken and the persons taking those depositions are each entitled to the same fees as are paid for like services in actions in the circuit courts of the State. Fees and mileage shall be vouchered for payment when the witness is discharged from further attendance.
    In case of disobedience to a subpoena, the Board may petition any circuit court of the State for an order requiring the attendance and testimony of witnesses or the production of documentary evidence or both. A copy of such petition shall be served by personal service or by registered or certified mail upon the person who has failed to obey the subpoena, and such person shall be advised in writing that a hearing upon the petition will be requested in a court room to be designated in such notice before the judge hearing motions or extraordinary remedies at a specified time, on a specified date, not less than 10 nor more than 15 days after the deposit of the copy of the written notice and petition in the U.S. mails addressed to the person at his last known address or after the personal service of the copy of the notice and petition upon such person. The court upon the filing of such a petition, may order the person refusing to obey the subpoena to appear at an investigation or hearing, or to there produce documentary evidence, if so ordered, or to give evidence relative to the subject matter of that investigation or hearing. Any failure to obey such order of the circuit court may be punished by that court as a contempt of court.
    Each member of the Board and any hearing officer designated by the Board shall have the power to administer oaths and to take the testimony of persons under oath.
    (g) Except under subsection (a) of this Section, a majority of the members then appointed to the Prisoner Review Board shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of all business of the Board.
    (h) The Prisoner Review Board shall annually transmit to the Director a detailed report of its work for the preceding calendar year. The annual report shall also be transmitted to the Governor for submission to the Legislature.
(Source: P.A. 97-697, eff. 6-22-12; 97-1120, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-399, eff. 8-16-13; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-2.1

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-2.1) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-2.1)
    Sec. 3-3-2.1. Prisoner Review Board - Release Date.
    (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), the Prisoner Review Board shall, no later than 7 days following a prisoner's next parole hearing after the effective date of this Amendatory Act of 1977, provide each prisoner sentenced under the law in effect prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977, with a fixed release date.
    (b) No release date under this Section shall be set for any person sentenced to an indeterminate sentence under the law in effect prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977 in which the minimum term of such sentence is 20 years or more.
    (c) The Prisoner Review Board shall notify each eligible offender of his or her release date in a form substantially as follows:
Date of Notice
"To (Name of offender):
    Under a recent change in the law you are provided with this choice:
    (1) You may remain under your present indeterminate sentence and continue to be eligible for parole; or (2) you may waive your right to parole and accept the release date which has been set for you. From this release date will be deducted any good conduct credit you may earn.
    If you accept the release date established by the Board, you will no longer be eligible for parole.
    Your release date from prison has been set for: (release date) ........ , subject to a term of mandatory supervised release as provided by law.
    If you accumulate the maximum amount of good conduct credit as allowed by law recently enacted, you can be released on: ........ , subject to a term of mandatory supervised release as provided by law.
    Should you choose not to accept the release date, your next parole hearing will be: ........ .
    The Board has based its determination of your release date on the following:
        (1) The material that normally would be examined in
    
connection with your parole hearing, as set forth in paragraph (d) of Section 3-3-4 of the Unified Code of Corrections:
        (2) the intent of the court in imposing sentence on
    
you;
        (3) the present schedule of sentences for similar
    
offenses provided by Articles 4.5 and 5 of Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections, as amended;
        (4) the factors in mitigation and aggravation
    
provided by Sections 5-5-3.1 and 5-5-3.2 of the Unified Code of Corrections, as amended;
        (5) The rate of accumulating good conduct credits
    
provided by Section 3-6-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections, as amended;
        (6) your behavior since commitment.
    You now have 60 days in which to decide whether to remain under your indeterminate sentence and continue to be eligible for parole or waive your right to parole and accept the release date established for you by the Board. If you do nothing within 60 days, you will remain under the parole system.
    If you accept the release date, you may accumulate good conduct credit at the maximum rate provided under the law recently enacted.
    If you feel that the release date set for you is unfair or is not based on complete information required to be considered by the Board, you may request that the Board reconsider the date. In your request you must set forth specific reasons why you feel the Board's release date is unfair and you may submit relevant material in support of your request.
    The Department of Corrections is obligated to assist you in that effort, if you ask it to do so.
    The Board will notify you within 60 days whether or not it will reconsider its decision. The Board's decision with respect to reconsidering your release date is final and cannot be appealed to any court.
    If the Board decides not to reconsider your case you will have 60 days in which to decide whether to accept the release date and waive your right to parole or to continue under the parole system. If you do nothing within 60 days after you receive notification of the Board's decision you will remain under the parole system.
    If the Board decides to reconsider its decision with respect to your release date, the Board will schedule a date for reconsideration as soon as practicable, but no later than 60 days from the date it receives your request, and give you at least 30 days notice. You may submit material to the Board which you believe will be helpful in deciding a proper date for your release. The Department of Corrections is obligated to assist you in that effort, if you ask it to do so.
    Neither you nor your lawyer has the right to be present on the date of reconsideration, nor the right to call witnesses. However, the Board may ask you or your lawyer to appear or may ask to hear witnesses. The Board will base its determination on the same data on which it made its earlier determination, plus any new information which may be available to it.
    When the Board has made its decision you will be informed of the release date. In no event will it be longer than the release date originally determined. From this date you may continue to accumulate good conduct credits at the maximum rate. You will not be able to appeal the Board's decision to a court.
    Following the Board's reconsideration and upon being notified of your release date you will have 60 days in which to decide whether to accept the release date and waive your right to parole or to continue under the parole system. If you do nothing within 60 days after notification of the Board's decision you will remain under the parole system."
    (d) The Board shall provide each eligible offender with a form substantially as follows:
    "I (name of offender) am fully aware of my right to choose between parole eligibility and a fixed release date. I know that if I accept the release date established, I will give up my right to seek parole. I have read and understood the Prisoner Review Board's letter, and I know how and under what circumstances the Board has set my release date. I know that I will be released on that date and will be released earlier if I accumulate good conduct credit. I know that the date set by the Board is final, and can't be appealed to a court.
    Fully aware of all the implications, I expressly and knowingly waive my right to seek parole and accept the release date as established by the Prisoner Review Board."
    (e) The Board shall use the following information and standards in establishing a release date for each eligible offender who requests that a date be set:
        (1) Such information as would be considered in a
    
parole hearing under Section 3-3-4 of this Code;
        (2) The intent of the court in imposing the
    
offender's sentence;
        (3) The present schedule for similar offenses
    
provided by Articles 4.5 and 5 of Chapter V of this Code;
        (4) Factors in aggravation and mitigation of sentence
    
as provided in Sections 5-5-3.1 and 5-5-3.2 of this Code;
        (5) The rate of accumulating good conduct credits
    
provided by Section 3-6-3 of this Code;
        (6) The offender's behavior since commitment to the
    
Department.
    (f) After the release date is set by the Board, the offender can accumulate good conduct credits in accordance with Section 3-6-3 of this Code.
    (g) The release date established by the Board shall not be sooner than the earliest date that the offender would have been eligible for release under the sentence imposed on him by the court, less time credit previously earned for good behavior, nor shall it be later than the latest date at which the offender would have been eligible for release under such sentence, less time credit previously earned for good behavior.
    (h) (1) Except as provided in subsection (b), each prisoner appearing at his next parole hearing subsequent to the effective date of the amendatory Act of 1977, shall be notified within 7 days of the hearing that he will either be released on parole or that a release date has been set by the Board. The notice and waiver form provided for in subsections (c) and (d) shall be presented to eligible prisoners no later than 7 days following their parole hearing. A written statement of the basis for the decision with regard to the release date set shall be given to such prisoners no later than 14 days following the parole hearing.
    (2) Each prisoner upon notification of his release date shall have 60 days to choose whether to remain under the parole system or to accept the release date established by the Board. No release date shall be effective unless the prisoner waives his right to parole in writing. If no choice is made by such prisoner within 60 days from the date of his notification of a release date, such prisoner shall remain under the parole system.
    (3) Within the 60 day period as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, a prisoner may request that the Board reconsider its decision with regard to such prisoner's release date. No later than 60 days following receipt of such request for reconsideration, the Board shall notify the prisoner as to whether or not it will reconsider such prisoner's release date. No court shall have jurisdiction to review the Board's decision. No prisoner shall be entitled to more than one request for reconsideration of his release date.
        (A) If the Board decides not to reconsider the
    
release date, the prisoner shall have 60 days to choose whether to remain under the parole system or to accept the release date established by the Board. No release date shall be effective unless the prisoner waives his right to parole in writing. If no choice is made by such prisoner within 60 days from the date of the notification by the Board refusing to reconsider his release date, such prisoner shall remain under the parole system.
        (B) If the Board decides to reconsider its decision
    
with respect to such release date, the Board shall schedule a date for reconsideration as soon as practicable, but no later than 60 days from the date of the prisoner's request, and give such prisoner at least 30 days notice. Such prisoner may submit any relevant material to the Board which would aid in ascertaining a proper release date. The Department of Corrections shall assist any such prisoner if asked to do so.
        Neither the prisoner nor his lawyer has the right to
    
be present on the date of reconsideration, nor the right to call witnesses. However, the Board may ask such prisoner or his or her lawyer to appear or may ask to hear witnesses. The Board shall base its determination on the factors specified in subsection (e), plus any new information which may be available to it.
        (C) When the Board has made its decision, the
    
prisoner shall be informed of the release date as provided for in subsection (c) no later than 7 days following the reconsideration. In no event shall such release date be longer than the release date originally determined. The decision of the Board is final. No court shall have jurisdiction to review the Board's decision.
    Following the Board's reconsideration and its notification to the prisoner of his or her release date, such prisoner shall have 60 days from the date of such notice in which to decide whether to accept the release date and waive his or her right to parole or to continue under the parole system. If such prisoner does nothing within 60 days after notification of the Board's decision, he or she shall remain under the parole system.
(Source: P.A. 95-1052, eff. 7-1-09; 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-3

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-3) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-3)
    Sec. 3-3-3. Eligibility for Parole or Release.
    (a) Except for those offenders who accept the fixed release date established by the Prisoner Review Board under Section 3-3-2.1, every person serving a term of imprisonment under the law in effect prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977 shall be eligible for parole when he or she has served:
        (1) the minimum term of an indeterminate sentence
    
less time credit for good behavior, or 20 years less time credit for good behavior, whichever is less; or
        (2) 20 years of a life sentence less time credit for
    
good behavior; or
        (3) 20 years or one-third of a determinate sentence,
    
whichever is less, less time credit for good behavior.
    (b) No person sentenced under this amendatory Act of 1977 or who accepts a release date under Section 3-3-2.1 shall be eligible for parole.
    (c) Except for those sentenced to a term of natural life imprisonment, every person sentenced to imprisonment under this amendatory Act of 1977 or given a release date under Section 3-3-2.1 of this Act shall serve the full term of a determinate sentence less time credit for good behavior and shall then be released under the mandatory supervised release provisions of paragraph (d) of Section 5-8-1 of this Code.
    (d) No person serving a term of natural life imprisonment may be paroled or released except through executive clemency.
    (e) Every person committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice under Section 5-10 of the Juvenile Court Act or Section 5-750 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 or Section 5-8-6 of this Code and confined in the State correctional institutions or facilities if such juvenile has not been tried as an adult shall be eligible for aftercare release without regard to the length of time the person has been confined or whether the person has served any minimum term imposed. However, if a juvenile has been tried as an adult he or she shall only be eligible for parole or mandatory supervised release as an adult under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 98-558, eff. 1-1-14.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-4

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-4) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-4)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-717)
    Sec. 3-3-4. Preparation for Parole Hearing.
    (a) The Prisoner Review Board shall consider the parole of each eligible person committed to the Department of Corrections at least 30 days prior to the date he or she shall first become eligible for parole, and shall consider the aftercare release of each person committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice as a delinquent at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the first year of confinement.
    (b) A person eligible for parole or aftercare release shall, no less than 15 days in advance of his or her parole interview, prepare a parole or aftercare release plan in accordance with the rules of the Prisoner Review Board. The person shall be assisted in preparing his or her parole or aftercare release plan by personnel of the Department of Corrections, or the Department of Juvenile Justice in the case of a person committed to that Department, and may, for this purpose, be released on furlough under Article 11 or on authorized absence under Section 3-9-4. The appropriate Department shall also provide assistance in obtaining information and records helpful to the individual for his or her parole hearing. If the person eligible for parole or aftercare release has a petition or any written submissions prepared on his or her behalf by an attorney or other representative, the attorney or representative for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release must serve by certified mail the State's Attorney of the county where he or she was prosecuted with the petition or any written submissions 15 days after his or her parole interview. The State's Attorney shall provide the attorney for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release with a copy of his or her letter in opposition to parole or aftercare release via certified mail within 5 business days of the en banc hearing.
    (c) Any member of the Board shall have access at all reasonable times to any committed person and to his or her master record file within the Department, and the Department shall furnish such a report to the Board concerning the conduct and character of any such person prior to his or her parole interview.
    (d) In making its determination of parole or aftercare release, the Board shall consider:
        (1) material transmitted to the Department of
    
Juvenile Justice by the clerk of the committing court under Section 5-4-1 or Section 5-10 of the Juvenile Court Act or Section 5-750 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987;
        (2) the report under Section 3-8-2 or 3-10-2;
        (3) a report by the Department and any report by the
    
chief administrative officer of the institution or facility;
        (4) a parole or aftercare release progress report;
        (5) a medical and psychological report, if requested
    
by the Board;
        (6) material in writing, or on film, video tape or
    
other electronic means in the form of a recording submitted by the person whose parole or aftercare release is being considered;
        (7) material in writing, or on film, video tape or
    
other electronic means in the form of a recording or testimony submitted by the State's Attorney and the victim or a concerned citizen pursuant to the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act; and
        (8) the person's eligibility for commitment under the
    
Sexually Violent Persons Commitment Act.
    (e) The prosecuting State's Attorney's office shall receive from the Board reasonable written notice not less than 30 days prior to the parole or aftercare release interview and may submit relevant information by oral argument or testimony of victims and concerned citizens, or both, in writing, or on film, video tape or other electronic means or in the form of a recording to the Board for its consideration. Upon written request of the State's Attorney's office, the Prisoner Review Board shall hear protests to parole, or aftercare release, except in counties of 1,500,000 or more inhabitants where there shall be standing objections to all such petitions. If a State's Attorney who represents a county of less than 1,500,000 inhabitants requests a protest hearing, the inmate's counsel or other representative shall also receive notice of such request. This hearing shall take place the month following the inmate's parole or aftercare release interview. If the inmate's parole or aftercare release interview is rescheduled then the Prisoner Review Board shall promptly notify the State's Attorney of the new date. The person eligible for parole or aftercare release shall be heard at the next scheduled en banc hearing date. If the case is to be continued, the State's Attorney's office and the attorney or representative for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release will be notified of any continuance within 5 business days. The State's Attorney may waive the written notice.
    (f) The victim of the violent crime for which the prisoner has been sentenced shall receive notice of a parole or aftercare release hearing as provided in paragraph (4) of subsection (d) of Section 4.5 of the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act.
    (g) Any recording considered under the provisions of subsection (d)(6), (d)(7) or (e) of this Section shall be in the form designated by the Board. Such recording shall be both visual and aural. Every voice on the recording and person present shall be identified and the recording shall contain either a visual or aural statement of the person submitting such recording, the date of the recording and the name of the person whose parole or aftercare release eligibility is being considered. Such recordings shall be retained by the Board and shall be deemed to be submitted at any subsequent parole or aftercare release hearing if the victim or State's Attorney submits in writing a declaration clearly identifying such recording as representing the present position of the victim or State's Attorney regarding the issues to be considered at the parole or aftercare release hearing.
    (h) The Board shall not release any material to the inmate, the inmate's attorney, any third party, or any other person containing any information from the victim or from a person related to the victim by blood, adoption, or marriage who has written objections, testified at any hearing, or submitted audio or visual objections to the inmate's parole, or aftercare release, unless provided with a waiver from that objecting party.
(Source: P.A. 97-523, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1075, eff. 8-24-12; 97-1083, eff. 8-24-12; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-717)
    Sec. 3-3-4. Preparation for Parole Hearing.
    (a) The Prisoner Review Board shall consider the parole of each eligible person committed to the Department of Corrections at least 30 days prior to the date he or she shall first become eligible for parole, and shall consider the aftercare release of each person committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice as a delinquent at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the first year of confinement.
    (b) A person eligible for parole or aftercare release shall, no less than 15 days in advance of his or her parole interview, prepare a parole or aftercare release plan in accordance with the rules of the Prisoner Review Board. The person shall be assisted in preparing his or her parole or aftercare release plan by personnel of the Department of Corrections, or the Department of Juvenile Justice in the case of a person committed to that Department, and may, for this purpose, be released on furlough under Article 11 or on authorized absence under Section 3-9-4. The appropriate Department shall also provide assistance in obtaining information and records helpful to the individual for his or her parole hearing. If the person eligible for parole or aftercare release has a petition or any written submissions prepared on his or her behalf by an attorney or other representative, the attorney or representative for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release must serve by certified mail the State's Attorney of the county where he or she was prosecuted with the petition or any written submissions 15 days after his or her parole interview. The State's Attorney shall provide the attorney for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release with a copy of his or her letter in opposition to parole or aftercare release via certified mail within 5 business days of the en banc hearing.
    (c) Any member of the Board shall have access at all reasonable times to any committed person and to his or her master record file within the Department, and the Department shall furnish such a report to the Board concerning the conduct and character of any such person prior to his or her parole interview.
    (d) In making its determination of parole or aftercare release, the Board shall consider:
        (1) material transmitted to the Department of
    
Juvenile Justice by the clerk of the committing court under Section 5-4-1 or Section 5-10 of the Juvenile Court Act or Section 5-750 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987;
        (2) the report under Section 3-8-2 or 3-10-2;
        (3) a report by the Department and any report by the
    
chief administrative officer of the institution or facility;
        (4) a parole or aftercare release progress report;
        (5) a medical and psychological report, if requested
    
by the Board;
        (6) material in writing, or on film, video tape or
    
other electronic means in the form of a recording submitted by the person whose parole or aftercare release is being considered;
        (7) material in writing, or on film, video tape or
    
other electronic means in the form of a recording or testimony submitted by the State's Attorney and the victim or a concerned citizen pursuant to the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act; and
        (8) the person's eligibility for commitment under the
    
Sexually Violent Persons Commitment Act.
    (e) The prosecuting State's Attorney's office shall receive from the Board reasonable written notice not less than 30 days prior to the parole or aftercare release interview and may submit relevant information by oral argument or testimony of victims and concerned citizens, or both, in writing, or on film, video tape or other electronic means or in the form of a recording to the Board for its consideration. Upon written request of the State's Attorney's office, the Prisoner Review Board shall hear protests to parole, or aftercare release, except in counties of 1,500,000 or more inhabitants where there shall be standing objections to all such petitions. If a State's Attorney who represents a county of less than 1,500,000 inhabitants requests a protest hearing, the inmate's counsel or other representative shall also receive notice of such request. This hearing shall take place the month following the inmate's parole or aftercare release interview. If the inmate's parole or aftercare release interview is rescheduled then the Prisoner Review Board shall promptly notify the State's Attorney of the new date. The person eligible for parole or aftercare release shall be heard at the next scheduled en banc hearing date. If the case is to be continued, the State's Attorney's office and the attorney or representative for the person eligible for parole or aftercare release will be notified of any continuance within 5 business days. The State's Attorney may waive the written notice.
    (f) The victim of the violent crime for which the prisoner has been sentenced shall receive notice of a parole or aftercare release hearing as provided in paragraph (4) of subsection (d) of Section 4.5 of the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act.
    (g) Any recording considered under the provisions of subsection (d)(6), (d)(7) or (e) of this Section shall be in the form designated by the Board. Such recording shall be both visual and aural. Every voice on the recording and person present shall be identified and the recording shall contain either a visual or aural statement of the person submitting such recording, the date of the recording and the name of the person whose parole or aftercare release eligibility is being considered. Such recordings shall be retained by the Board and shall be deemed to be submitted at any subsequent parole or aftercare release hearing if the victim or State's Attorney submits in writing a declaration clearly identifying such recording as representing the present position of the victim or State's Attorney regarding the issues to be considered at the parole or aftercare release hearing.
    (h) The Board shall not release any material to the inmate, the inmate's attorney, any third party, or any other person containing any information from the victim or from a person related to the victim by blood, adoption, or marriage who has written objections, testified at any hearing, or submitted audio or visual objections to the inmate's parole, or aftercare release, unless provided with a waiver from that objecting party. The Board shall not release the names or addresses of any person on its victim registry to any other person except the victim, a law enforcement agency, or other victim notification system.
(Source: P.A. 97-523, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1075, eff. 8-24-12; 97-1083, eff. 8-24-12; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14; 98-717, eff. 1-1-15.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-5

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-5) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-5)
    Sec. 3-3-5. Hearing and Determination.
    (a) The Prisoner Review Board shall meet as often as need requires to consider the cases of persons eligible for parole and aftercare release. Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of Section 3-3-2 of this Act, the Prisoner Review Board may meet and order its actions in panels of 3 or more members. The action of a majority of the panel shall be the action of the Board. In consideration of persons committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice, the panel shall have at least a majority of members experienced in juvenile matters.
    (b) If the person under consideration for parole or aftercare release is in the custody of the Department, at least one member of the Board shall interview him or her, and a report of that interview shall be available for the Board's consideration. However, in the discretion of the Board, the interview need not be conducted if a psychiatric examination determines that the person could not meaningfully contribute to the Board's consideration. The Board may in its discretion parole or release on aftercare a person who is then outside the jurisdiction on his or her record without an interview. The Board need not hold a hearing or interview a person who is paroled or released on aftercare under paragraphs (d) or (e) of this Section or released on Mandatory release under Section 3-3-10.
    (c) The Board shall not parole or release a person eligible for parole or aftercare release if it determines that:
        (1) there is a substantial risk that he or she will
    
not conform to reasonable conditions of parole or aftercare release; or
        (2) his or her release at that time would deprecate
    
the seriousness of his or her offense or promote disrespect for the law; or
        (3) his or her release would have a substantially
    
adverse effect on institutional discipline.
    (d) A person committed under the Juvenile Court Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 who has not been sooner released shall be released on aftercare on or before his or her 20th birthday to begin serving a period of aftercare release under Section 3-3-8.
    (e) A person who has served the maximum term of imprisonment imposed at the time of sentencing less time credit for good behavior shall be released on parole to serve a period of parole under Section 5-8-1.
    (f) The Board shall render its decision within a reasonable time after hearing and shall state the basis therefor both in the records of the Board and in written notice to the person on whose application it has acted. In its decision, the Board shall set the person's time for parole or aftercare release, or if it denies parole or aftercare release it shall provide for a rehearing not less frequently than once every year, except that the Board may, after denying parole, schedule a rehearing no later than 5 years from the date of the parole denial, if the Board finds that it is not reasonable to expect that parole would be granted at a hearing prior to the scheduled rehearing date. If the Board shall parole or release a person, and, if he or she is not released within 90 days from the effective date of the order granting parole or aftercare release, the matter shall be returned to the Board for review.
    (f-1) If the Board paroles or releases a person who is eligible for commitment as a sexually violent person, the effective date of the Board's order shall be stayed for 90 days for the purpose of evaluation and proceedings under the Sexually Violent Persons Commitment Act.
    (g) The Board shall maintain a registry of decisions in which parole has been granted, which shall include the name and case number of the prisoner, the highest charge for which the prisoner was sentenced, the length of sentence imposed, the date of the sentence, the date of the parole, and the basis for the decision of the Board to grant parole and the vote of the Board on any such decisions. The registry shall be made available for public inspection and copying during business hours and shall be a public record pursuant to the provisions of the Freedom of Information Act.
    (h) The Board shall promulgate rules regarding the exercise of its discretion under this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-522, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1075, eff. 8-24-12; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-6

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-6) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-6)
    Sec. 3-3-6. Parole or release to warrant or detainer. (a) If a warrant or detainer is placed against a person by the court, parole agency, or other authority of this or any other jurisdiction, the Prisoner Review Board shall inquire before such person becomes eligible for parole or release whether the authority concerned intends to execute or withdraw the process if the person is released on parole or otherwise.
    (b) If the authority notifies the Board that it intends to execute such process when the person is released, the Board shall advise the authority concerned of the sentence or disposition under which the person is held, the time of eligibility for parole or release, any decision of the Board relating to the person and the nature of his or her adjustment during confinement, and shall give reasonable notice to such authority of the person's release date.
    (c) The Board may parole or release a person to a warrant or detainer. The Board may provide, as a condition of parole or release, that if the charge or charges on which the warrant or detainer is based are dismissed or satisfied, prior to the expiration of his or her parole term, the authority to whose warrant or detainer he or she was released shall return him to serve the remainder of his or her parole term or such part thereof as the Board may determine subject to paragraph (d) of Section 5-8-1.
    (d) If a person paroled to a warrant or detainer is thereafter sentenced to probation, or released on parole in another jurisdiction prior to the expiration of his or her parole or mandatory supervised release term in this State, the Board may permit him or her to serve the remainder of his or her term, or such part thereof as the Board may determine, in either of the jurisdictions.
(Source: P.A. 83-346.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-7

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-7) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-7)
    Sec. 3-3-7. Conditions of Parole, Mandatory Supervised Release, or Aftercare Release.
    (a) The conditions of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release shall be such as the Prisoner Review Board deems necessary to assist the subject in leading a law-abiding life. The conditions of every parole, aftercare release, and mandatory supervised release are that the subject:
        (1) not violate any criminal statute of any
    
jurisdiction during the parole, aftercare release, or release term;
        (2) refrain from possessing a firearm or other
    
dangerous weapon;
        (3) report to an agent of the Department of
    
Corrections or to the Department of Juvenile Justice;
        (4) permit the agent or aftercare specialist to visit
    
him or her at his or her home, employment, or elsewhere to the extent necessary for the agent or aftercare specialist to discharge his or her duties;
        (5) attend or reside in a facility established for
    
the instruction or residence of persons on parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release;
        (6) secure permission before visiting or writing a
    
committed person in an Illinois Department of Corrections facility;
        (7) report all arrests to an agent of the Department
    
of Corrections or to the Department of Juvenile Justice as soon as permitted by the arresting authority but in no event later than 24 hours after release from custody and immediately report service or notification of an order of protection, a civil no contact order, or a stalking no contact order to an agent of the Department of Corrections;
        (7.5) if convicted of a sex offense as defined in the
    
Sex Offender Management Board Act, the individual shall undergo and successfully complete sex offender treatment conducted in conformance with the standards developed by the Sex Offender Management Board Act by a treatment provider approved by the Board;
        (7.6) if convicted of a sex offense as defined in the
    
Sex Offender Management Board Act, refrain from residing at the same address or in the same condominium unit or apartment unit or in the same condominium complex or apartment complex with another person he or she knows or reasonably should know is a convicted sex offender or has been placed on supervision for a sex offense; the provisions of this paragraph do not apply to a person convicted of a sex offense who is placed in a Department of Corrections licensed transitional housing facility for sex offenders, or is in any facility operated or licensed by the Department of Children and Family Services or by the Department of Human Services, or is in any licensed medical facility;
        (7.7) if convicted for an offense that would qualify
    
the accused as a sexual predator under the Sex Offender Registration Act on or after January 1, 2007 (the effective date of Public Act 94-988), wear an approved electronic monitoring device as defined in Section 5-8A-2 for the duration of the person's parole, aftercare release, mandatory supervised release term, or extended mandatory supervised release term and if convicted for an offense of criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, criminal sexual abuse, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, or ritualized abuse of a child committed on or after August 11, 2009 (the effective date of Public Act 96-236) when the victim was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense and the defendant used force or the threat of force in the commission of the offense wear an approved electronic monitoring device as defined in Section 5-8A-2 that has Global Positioning System (GPS) capability for the duration of the person's parole, aftercare release, mandatory supervised release term, or extended mandatory supervised release term;
        (7.8) if convicted for an offense committed on or
    
after June 1, 2008 (the effective date of Public Act 95-464) that would qualify the accused as a child sex offender as defined in Section 11-9.3 or 11-9.4 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, refrain from communicating with or contacting, by means of the Internet, a person who is not related to the accused and whom the accused reasonably believes to be under 18 years of age; for purposes of this paragraph (7.8), "Internet" has the meaning ascribed to it in Section 16-0.1 of the Criminal Code of 2012; and a person is not related to the accused if the person is not: (i) the spouse, brother, or sister of the accused; (ii) a descendant of the accused; (iii) a first or second cousin of the accused; or (iv) a step-child or adopted child of the accused;
        (7.9) if convicted under Section 11-6, 11-20.1,
    
11-20.1B, 11-20.3, or 11-21 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, consent to search of computers, PDAs, cellular phones, and other devices under his or her control that are capable of accessing the Internet or storing electronic files, in order to confirm Internet protocol addresses reported in accordance with the Sex Offender Registration Act and compliance with conditions in this Act;
        (7.10) if convicted for an offense that would
    
qualify the accused as a sex offender or sexual predator under the Sex Offender Registration Act on or after June 1, 2008 (the effective date of Public Act 95-640), not possess prescription drugs for erectile dysfunction;
        (7.11) if convicted for an offense under Section
    
11-6, 11-9.1, 11-14.4 that involves soliciting for a juvenile prostitute, 11-15.1, 11-20.1, 11-20.1B, 11-20.3, or 11-21 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or any attempt to commit any of these offenses, committed on or after June 1, 2009 (the effective date of Public Act 95-983):
            (i) not access or use a computer or any other
        
device with Internet capability without the prior written approval of the Department;
            (ii) submit to periodic unannounced examinations
        
of the offender's computer or any other device with Internet capability by the offender's supervising agent, aftercare specialist, a law enforcement officer, or assigned computer or information technology specialist, including the retrieval and copying of all data from the computer or device and any internal or external peripherals and removal of such information, equipment, or device to conduct a more thorough inspection;
            (iii) submit to the installation on the
        
offender's computer or device with Internet capability, at the offender's expense, of one or more hardware or software systems to monitor the Internet use; and
            (iv) submit to any other appropriate restrictions
        
concerning the offender's use of or access to a computer or any other device with Internet capability imposed by the Board, the Department or the offender's supervising agent or aftercare specialist;
        (7.12) if convicted of a sex offense as defined in
    
the Sex Offender Registration Act committed on or after January 1, 2010 (the effective date of Public Act 96-262), refrain from accessing or using a social networking website as defined in Section 17-0.5 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
        (7.13) if convicted of a sex offense as defined in
    
Section 2 of the Sex Offender Registration Act committed on or after January 1, 2010 (the effective date of Public Act 96-362) that requires the person to register as a sex offender under that Act, may not knowingly use any computer scrub software on any computer that the sex offender uses;
        (8) obtain permission of an agent of the Department
    
of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice before leaving the State of Illinois;
        (9) obtain permission of an agent of the Department
    
of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice before changing his or her residence or employment;
        (10) consent to a search of his or her person,
    
property, or residence under his or her control;
        (11) refrain from the use or possession of narcotics
    
or other controlled substances in any form, or both, or any paraphernalia related to those substances and submit to a urinalysis test as instructed by a parole agent of the Department of Corrections or an aftercare specialist of the Department of Juvenile Justice;
        (12) not frequent places where controlled substances
    
are illegally sold, used, distributed, or administered;
        (13) not knowingly associate with other persons on
    
parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release without prior written permission of his or her parole agent or aftercare specialist and not associate with persons who are members of an organized gang as that term is defined in the Illinois Streetgang Terrorism Omnibus Prevention Act;
        (14) provide true and accurate information, as it
    
relates to his or her adjustment in the community while on parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release or to his or her conduct while incarcerated, in response to inquiries by his or her parole agent or of the Department of Corrections or by his or her aftercare specialist or of the Department of Juvenile Justice;
        (15) follow any specific instructions provided by the
    
parole agent or aftercare specialist that are consistent with furthering conditions set and approved by the Prisoner Review Board or by law, exclusive of placement on electronic detention, to achieve the goals and objectives of his or her parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release or to protect the public. These instructions by the parole agent or aftercare specialist may be modified at any time, as the agent or aftercare specialist deems appropriate;
        (16) if convicted of a sex offense as defined in
    
subsection (a-5) of Section 3-1-2 of this Code, unless the offender is a parent or guardian of the person under 18 years of age present in the home and no non-familial minors are present, not participate in a holiday event involving children under 18 years of age, such as distributing candy or other items to children on Halloween, wearing a Santa Claus costume on or preceding Christmas, being employed as a department store Santa Claus, or wearing an Easter Bunny costume on or preceding Easter;
        (17) if convicted of a violation of an order of
    
protection under Section 12-3.4 or Section 12-30 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, be placed under electronic surveillance as provided in Section 5-8A-7 of this Code;
        (18) comply with the terms and conditions of an
    
order of protection issued pursuant to the Illinois Domestic Violence Act of 1986; an order of protection issued by the court of another state, tribe, or United States territory; a no contact order issued pursuant to the Civil No Contact Order Act; or a no contact order issued pursuant to the Stalking No Contact Order Act; and
        (19) if convicted of a violation of the
    
Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, the Methamphetamine Precursor Control Act, or a methamphetamine related offense, be:
            (A) prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or
        
having under his or her control any product containing pseudoephedrine unless prescribed by a physician; and
            (B) prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or
        
having under his or her control any product containing ammonium nitrate.
    (b) The Board may in addition to other conditions require that the subject:
        (1) work or pursue a course of study or vocational
    
training;
        (2) undergo medical or psychiatric treatment, or
    
treatment for drug addiction or alcoholism;
        (3) attend or reside in a facility established for
    
the instruction or residence of persons on probation or parole;
        (4) support his or her dependents;
        (5) (blank);
        (6) (blank);
        (7) (blank);
        (7.5) if convicted for an offense committed on or
    
after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly that would qualify the accused as a child sex offender as defined in Section 11-9.3 or 11-9.4 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, refrain from communicating with or contacting, by means of the Internet, a person who is related to the accused and whom the accused reasonably believes to be under 18 years of age; for purposes of this paragraph (7.5), "Internet" has the meaning ascribed to it in Section 16-0.1 of the Criminal Code of 2012; and a person is related to the accused if the person is: (i) the spouse, brother, or sister of the accused; (ii) a descendant of the accused; (iii) a first or second cousin of the accused; or (iv) a step-child or adopted child of the accused;
        (7.6) if convicted for an offense committed on or
    
after June 1, 2009 (the effective date of Public Act 95-983) that would qualify as a sex offense as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act:
            (i) not access or use a computer or any other
        
device with Internet capability without the prior written approval of the Department;
            (ii) submit to periodic unannounced examinations
        
of the offender's computer or any other device with Internet capability by the offender's supervising agent or aftercare specialist, a law enforcement officer, or assigned computer or information technology specialist, including the retrieval and copying of all data from the computer or device and any internal or external peripherals and removal of such information, equipment, or device to conduct a more thorough inspection;
            (iii) submit to the installation on the
        
offender's computer or device with Internet capability, at the offender's expense, of one or more hardware or software systems to monitor the Internet use; and
            (iv) submit to any other appropriate restrictions
        
concerning the offender's use of or access to a computer or any other device with Internet capability imposed by the Board, the Department or the offender's supervising agent or aftercare specialist; and
        (8) in addition, if a minor:
            (i) reside with his or her parents or in a foster
        
home;
            (ii) attend school;
            (iii) attend a non-residential program for youth;
        
or
            (iv) contribute to his or her own support at home
        
or in a foster home.
    (b-1) In addition to the conditions set forth in subsections (a) and (b), persons required to register as sex offenders pursuant to the Sex Offender Registration Act, upon release from the custody of the Illinois Department of Corrections or Department of Juvenile Justice, may be required by the Board to comply with the following specific conditions of release:
        (1) reside only at a Department approved location;
        (2) comply with all requirements of the Sex Offender
    
Registration Act;
        (3) notify third parties of the risks that
    
may be occasioned by his or her criminal record;
        (4) obtain the approval of an agent of the Department
    
of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice prior to accepting employment or pursuing a course of study or vocational training and notify the Department prior to any change in employment, study, or training;
        (5) not be employed or participate in any
    
volunteer activity that involves contact with children, except under circumstances approved in advance and in writing by an agent of the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice;
        (6) be electronically monitored for a minimum of 12
    
months from the date of release as determined by the Board;
        (7) refrain from entering into a designated
    
geographic area except upon terms approved in advance by an agent of the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice. The terms may include consideration of the purpose of the entry, the time of day, and others accompanying the person;
        (8) refrain from having any contact, including
    
written or oral communications, directly or indirectly, personally or by telephone, letter, or through a third party with certain specified persons including, but not limited to, the victim or the victim's family without the prior written approval of an agent of the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice;
        (9) refrain from all contact, directly or
    
indirectly, personally, by telephone, letter, or through a third party, with minor children without prior identification and approval of an agent of the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice;
        (10) neither possess or have under his or her
    
control any material that is sexually oriented, sexually stimulating, or that shows male or female sex organs or any pictures depicting children under 18 years of age nude or any written or audio material describing sexual intercourse or that depicts or alludes to sexual activity, including but not limited to visual, auditory, telephonic, or electronic media, or any matter obtained through access to any computer or material linked to computer access use;
        (11) not patronize any business providing
    
sexually stimulating or sexually oriented entertainment nor utilize "900" or adult telephone numbers;
        (12) not reside near, visit, or be in or about
    
parks, schools, day care centers, swimming pools, beaches, theaters, or any other places where minor children congregate without advance approval of an agent of the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice and immediately report any incidental contact with minor children to the Department;
        (13) not possess or have under his or her control
    
certain specified items of contraband related to the incidence of sexually offending as determined by an agent of the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice;
        (14) may be required to provide a written daily log
    
of activities if directed by an agent of the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile Justice;
        (15) comply with all other special conditions
    
that the Department may impose that restrict the person from high-risk situations and limit access to potential victims;
        (16) take an annual polygraph exam;
        (17) maintain a log of his or her travel; or
        (18) obtain prior approval of his or her parole
    
officer or aftercare specialist before driving alone in a motor vehicle.
    (c) The conditions under which the parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release is to be served shall be communicated to the person in writing prior to his or her release, and he or she shall sign the same before release. A signed copy of these conditions, including a copy of an order of protection where one had been issued by the criminal court, shall be retained by the person and another copy forwarded to the officer or aftercare specialist in charge of his or her supervision.
    (d) After a hearing under Section 3-3-9, the Prisoner Review Board may modify or enlarge the conditions of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release.
    (e) The Department shall inform all offenders committed to the Department of the optional services available to them upon release and shall assist inmates in availing themselves of such optional services upon their release on a voluntary basis.
    (f) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 97-50, eff. 6-28-11; 97-531, eff. 1-1-12; 97-560, eff. 1-1-12; 97-597, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-8

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-8) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-8)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 98-718)
    Sec. 3-3-8. Length of parole, aftercare release, and mandatory supervised release; discharge.)
    (a) The length of parole for a person sentenced under the law in effect prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977 and the length of mandatory supervised release for those sentenced under the law in effect on and after such effective date shall be as set out in Section 5-8-1 unless sooner terminated under paragraph (b) of this Section. The aftercare release period of a juvenile committed to the Department under the Juvenile Court Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 shall extend until he or she is 21 years of age unless sooner terminated under paragraph (b) of this Section.
    (b) The Prisoner Review Board may enter an order releasing and discharging one from parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release, and his or her commitment to the Department, when it determines that he or she is likely to remain at liberty without committing another offense.
    (b-1) Provided that the subject is in compliance with the terms and conditions of his or her parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release, the Prisoner Review Board may reduce the period of a parolee or releasee's parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release by 90 days upon the parolee or releasee receiving a high school diploma or upon passage of the high school level Test of General Educational Development during the period of his or her parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release. This reduction in the period of a subject's term of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release shall be available only to subjects who have not previously earned a high school diploma or who have not previously passed the high school level Test of General Educational Development.
    (c) The order of discharge shall become effective upon entry of the order of the Board. The Board shall notify the clerk of the committing court of the order. Upon receipt of such copy, the clerk shall make an entry on the record judgment that the sentence or commitment has been satisfied pursuant to the order.
    (d) Rights of the person discharged under this Section shall be restored under Section 5-5-5. This Section is subject to Section 5-750 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.
(Source: P.A. 97-531, eff. 1-1-12; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 98-718)
    Sec. 3-3-8. Length of parole, aftercare release, and mandatory supervised release; discharge.)
    (a) The length of parole for a person sentenced under the law in effect prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977 and the length of mandatory supervised release for those sentenced under the law in effect on and after such effective date shall be as set out in Section 5-8-1 unless sooner terminated under paragraph (b) of this Section. The aftercare release period of a juvenile committed to the Department under the Juvenile Court Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 shall extend until he or she is 21 years of age unless sooner terminated under paragraph (b) of this Section.
    (b) The Prisoner Review Board may enter an order releasing and discharging one from parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release, and his or her commitment to the Department, when it determines that he or she is likely to remain at liberty without committing another offense.
    (b-1) Provided that the subject is in compliance with the terms and conditions of his or her parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release, the Prisoner Review Board may reduce the period of a parolee or releasee's parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release by 90 days upon the parolee or releasee receiving a high school diploma or upon passage of high school equivalency testing during the period of his or her parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release. This reduction in the period of a subject's term of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release shall be available only to subjects who have not previously earned a high school diploma or who have not previously passed high school equivalency testing.
    (c) The order of discharge shall become effective upon entry of the order of the Board. The Board shall notify the clerk of the committing court of the order. Upon receipt of such copy, the clerk shall make an entry on the record judgment that the sentence or commitment has been satisfied pursuant to the order.
    (d) Rights of the person discharged under this Section shall be restored under Section 5-5-5. This Section is subject to Section 5-750 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.
(Source: P.A. 97-531, eff. 1-1-12; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14; 98-718, eff. 1-1-15.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-9

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-9) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-9)
    Sec. 3-3-9. Violations; changes of conditions; preliminary hearing; revocation of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release; revocation hearing.
    (a) If prior to expiration or termination of the term of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release, a person violates a condition set by the Prisoner Review Board or a condition of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release under Section 3-3-7 of this Code to govern that term, the Board may:
        (1) continue the existing term, with or without
    
modifying or enlarging the conditions; or
        (2) parole or release the person to a half-way house;
    
or
        (3) revoke the parole, aftercare release, or
    
mandatory supervised release and reconfine the person for a term computed in the following manner:
            (i) (A) For those sentenced under the law in
        
effect prior to this amendatory Act of 1977, the recommitment shall be for any portion of the imposed maximum term of imprisonment or confinement which had not been served at the time of parole and the parole term, less the time elapsed between the parole of the person and the commission of the violation for which parole was revoked;
            (B) Except as set forth in paragraph (C), for
        
those subject to mandatory supervised release under paragraph (d) of Section 5-8-1 of this Code, the recommitment shall be for the total mandatory supervised release term, less the time elapsed between the release of the person and the commission of the violation for which mandatory supervised release is revoked. The Board may also order that a prisoner serve up to one year of the sentence imposed by the court which was not served due to the accumulation of sentence credit;
            (C) For those subject to sex offender supervision
        
under clause (d)(4) of Section 5-8-1 of this Code, the reconfinement period for violations of clauses (a)(3) through (b-1)(15) of Section 3-3-7 shall not exceed 2 years from the date of reconfinement;
            (ii) the person shall be given credit against the
        
term of reimprisonment or reconfinement for time spent in custody since he or she was paroled or released which has not been credited against another sentence or period of confinement;
            (iii) persons committed under the Juvenile Court
        
Act or the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 may be continued under the existing term of aftercare release with or without modifying the conditions of aftercare release, released on aftercare release to a group home or other residential facility, or recommitted until the age of 21 unless sooner terminated;
            (iv) this Section is subject to the release under
        
supervision and the reparole and rerelease provisions of Section 3-3-10.
    (b) The Board may revoke parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release for violation of a condition for the duration of the term and for any further period which is reasonably necessary for the adjudication of matters arising before its expiration. The issuance of a warrant of arrest for an alleged violation of the conditions of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release shall toll the running of the term until the final determination of the charge. When parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release is not revoked that period shall be credited to the term, unless a community-based sanction is imposed as an alternative to revocation and reincarceration, including a diversion established by the Illinois Department of Corrections Parole Services Unit prior to the holding of a preliminary parole revocation hearing. Parolees who are diverted to a community-based sanction shall serve the entire term of parole or mandatory supervised release, if otherwise appropriate.
    (b-5) The Board shall revoke parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release for violation of the conditions prescribed in paragraph (7.6) of subsection (a) of Section 3-3-7.
    (c) A person charged with violating a condition of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release shall have a preliminary hearing before a hearing officer designated by the Board to determine if there is cause to hold the person for a revocation hearing. However, no preliminary hearing need be held when revocation is based upon new criminal charges and a court finds probable cause on the new criminal charges or when the revocation is based upon a new criminal conviction and a certified copy of that conviction is available.
    (d) Parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release shall not be revoked without written notice to the offender setting forth the violation of parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release charged against him or her.
    (e) A hearing on revocation shall be conducted before at least one member of the Prisoner Review Board. The Board may meet and order its actions in panels of 3 or more members. The action of a majority of the panel shall be the action of the Board. In consideration of persons committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice, the member hearing the matter and at least a majority of the panel shall be experienced in juvenile matters. A record of the hearing shall be made. At the hearing the offender shall be permitted to:
        (1) appear and answer the charge; and
        (2) bring witnesses on his or her behalf.
    (f) The Board shall either revoke parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release or order the person's term continued with or without modification or enlargement of the conditions.
    (g) Parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release shall not be revoked for failure to make payments under the conditions of parole or release unless the Board determines that such failure is due to the offender's willful refusal to pay.
(Source: P.A. 97-697, eff. 6-22-12; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 98-558, eff. 1-1-14.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-10

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-10) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-10)
    Sec. 3-3-10. Eligibility after Revocation; Release under Supervision.
    (a) A person whose parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release has been revoked may be reparoled or rereleased by the Board at any time to the full parole, aftercare release, or mandatory supervised release term under Section 3-3-8, except that the time which the person shall remain subject to the Board shall not exceed (1) the imposed maximum term of imprisonment or confinement and the parole term for those sentenced under the law in effect prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1977 or (2) the term of imprisonment imposed by the court and the mandatory supervised release term for those sentenced under the law in effect on and after such effective date.
    (b) If the Board sets no earlier release date:
        (1) A person sentenced for any violation of law which
    
occurred before January 1, 1973, shall be released under supervision 6 months prior to the expiration of his or her maximum sentence of imprisonment less good time credit under Section 3-6-3.
        (2) Any person who has violated the conditions of his
    
or her parole or aftercare release and been reconfined under Section 3-3-9 shall be released under supervision 6 months prior to the expiration of the term of his or her reconfinement under paragraph (a) of Section 3-3-9 less good time credit under Section 3-6-3. This paragraph shall not apply to persons serving terms of mandatory supervised release.
        (3) Nothing herein shall require the release of a
    
person who has violated his or her parole within 6 months of the date when his or her release under this Section would otherwise be mandatory.
    (c) Persons released under this Section shall be subject to Sections 3-3-6, 3-3-7, 3-3-9, 3-14-1, 3-14-2, 3-14-2.5, 3-14-3, and 3-14-4.
(Source: P.A. 98-558, eff. 1-1-14.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-11

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-11) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-11)
    Sec. 3-3-11. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-325, eff. 7-29-99. Repealed by P.A. 92-571, eff. 6-26-02.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.05

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.05)
    Sec. 3-3-11.05. State Council for Interstate Compacts for the State of Illinois.
    (a) Membership and appointing authority.
        (1) A State Compact Administrator for the Interstate
    
Compact for Adult Offender Supervision shall be appointed by the Governor. The Adult Offender Supervision Compact Administrator shall be a representative of the Illinois Department of Corrections and shall act as the day-to-day administrator for the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision. The State Compact Administrator shall serve as the State's Commissioner to the Interstate Commission for Adult Offenders, as provided in Article IV of the Compact. The Adult Offender Supervision Compact Administrator shall serve as Chairperson of the State Council for Interstate Compacts, except that the State Compact Administrator for the Interstate Compact for Juveniles may be designated by the State Council to serve as Chairperson for the State Council when juvenile issues come before the council.
        (2) A Deputy Compact Administrator from probation
    
shall be appointed by the Supreme Court.
        (3) A representative shall be appointed by the
    
Speaker of the House of Representatives.
        (4) A representative shall be appointed by the
    
Minority Leader of the House of Representatives.
        (5) A representative shall be appointed by the
    
President of the Senate.
        (6) A representative shall be appointed by the
    
Minority Leader of the Senate.
        (7) A judicial representative shall be appointed by
    
the Supreme Court.
        (8) A representative from a crime victims' advocacy
    
group shall be appointed by the Governor.
        (9) A parole representative shall be appointed by the
    
Director of Corrections.
        (10) A probation representative shall be appointed by
    
the Director of the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts.
        (11) A representative shall be appointed by the
    
Director of Juvenile Justice.
        (12) The Deputy Compact Administrator (Juvenile)
    
appointed by the Secretary of Human Services.
        (13) The State Compact Administrator of the
    
Interstate Compact for Juveniles.
        (14) The persons appointed under clauses (1) through
    
(13) of this subsection (a) shall be voting members of the State Council. With the approval of the State Council, persons representing other organizations that may have an interest in the Compact may also be appointed to serve as non-voting members of the State Council by those interested organizations. Those organizations may include, but are not limited to, the Illinois Sheriffs' Association, the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police, the Illinois State's Attorneys Association, and the Office of Attorney General.
    (b) Terms of appointment.
        (1) The Compact Administrators and the Deputy
    
Compact Administrators shall serve at the will of their respective appointing authorities.
        (2) The crime victims' advocacy group representative
    
and the judicial representative shall each serve an initial term of 2 years. Thereafter, they shall each serve for a term of 4 years.
        (3) The representatives appointed by the Speaker of
    
the House of Representatives, the President of the Senate, the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, and the Minority Leader of the Senate shall each serve for a term of 4 years. If one of these representatives shall not be able to fulfill the completion of his or her term, then another representative shall be appointed by his or her respective appointing authority for the remainder of his or her term.
        (4) The probation representative and the parole
    
representative shall each serve a term of 2 years.
        (5) The time frame limiting the initial term of
    
appointments for voting representatives listed in clauses (2) through (4) of this subsection (b) shall not begin until more than 50% of the appointments have been made by the respective appointing authorities.
    (c) Duties and responsibilities.
        (1) The duties and responsibilities of the State
    
Council shall be:
            (A) To appoint the State Compact Administrator as
        
Illinois' Commissioner on the Interstate Commission.
            (B) To develop by-laws for the operation of the
        
State Council.
            (C) To establish policies and procedures for the
        
Interstate Compact operations in Illinois.
            (D) To monitor and remediate Compact compliance
        
issues in Illinois.
            (E) To promote system training and public
        
awareness regarding the Compact's mission and mandates.
            (F) To meet at least twice a year and otherwise
        
as called by the Chairperson.
            (G) To allow for the appointment of non-voting
        
members as deemed appropriate.
            (H) To issue rules in accordance with Article 5
        
of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act.
            (I) To publish Interstate Commission rules.
    (d) Funding. The State shall appropriate funds to the Department of Corrections to support the operations of the State Council and its membership dues to the Interstate Commission.
    (e) Penalties. Procedures for assessment of penalties imposed pursuant to Article XII of the Compact shall be established by the State Council.
    (f) Notification of ratification of Compact. The State Compact Administrator shall notify the Governor and Secretary of State when 35 States have enacted the Compact.
(Source: P.A. 95-937, eff. 8-26-08.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.1

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.1) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-11.1)
    Sec. 3-3-11.1. State defined. As used in Sections 3-3-11.05 through 3-3-11.3, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the term "State" means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and any other territorial possessions of the United States.
(Source: P.A. 95-937, eff. 8-26-08.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.2

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.2) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-11.2)
    Sec. 3-3-11.2. Force and effect of compact.
    When the Governor of this State shall sign and seal the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision, the Interstate Compact for Juveniles, or any compact with any other State, pursuant to the provisions of this Act, such compact or compacts as between the State of Illinois and such other State so signing shall have the force and effect of law immediately upon the enactment by such other State of a law giving it similar effect.
(Source: P.A. 95-937, eff. 8-26-08.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.3

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.3) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-11.3)
    Sec. 3-3-11.3. Compacts for Crime Prevention and Correction. The Governor of the State of Illinois is further authorized and empowered to enter into any other agreements or compacts with any of the United States not inconsistent with the laws of this State or of the United States, or the other agreeing States, for co-operative effort and mutual assistance in the prevention of crime and in the enforcement of the penal laws and policies of the contracting States and to establish agencies, joint or otherwise, as may be deemed desirable for making effective such agreements and compacts. The intent and purpose of this Act is to grant to the Governor of the State of Illinois administrative power and authority if and when conditions of crime make it necessary to bind the State in a cooperative effort to reduce crime and to make the enforcement of the criminal laws of agreeing States more effective, all pursuant to the consent of the Congress of the United States heretofore granted.
(Source: P.A. 77-2097.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.4

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.4) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-11.4)
    Sec. 3-3-11.4. Where supervision of an offender is being administered pursuant to the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision, the appropriate judicial or administrative authorities in this State shall notify the Compact Administrator of the sending State whenever, in their view, consideration should be given to retaking or reincarceration for a parole or probation violation. Prior to the giving of any such notification, a hearing shall be held within a reasonable time as to whether there is probable cause to believe that the offender has violated a condition of his parole or probation, unless such hearing is waived by the offender by way of an admission of guilt. The appropriate officer or officers of this State shall as soon as practicable, following termination of any such hearing, report to the sending State, furnish a copy of the hearing record, and make recommendations regarding the disposition to be made of the offender.
(Source: P.A. 92-571, eff. 6-26-02.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.5

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-11.5)
    Sec. 3-3-11.5. Sex offender restrictions.
    (a) Definition. For purposes of this Act, a "sex offender" is any person who has ever been convicted of a sexual offense or attempt to commit a sexual offense, and sentenced to a term of imprisonment, periodic imprisonment, fine, probation, conditional discharge or any other form of sentence, or given a disposition of court supervision for the offense; or adjudicated or found to be a sexually dangerous person under any law substantially similar to the Sexually Dangerous Persons Act.
    (b) Residency restrictions. No sex offender shall be accepted for supervised or conditioned residency in Illinois under the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision unless he or she:
        (1) Complies with any registration requirements
    
imposed by the Sex Offender Registration Act within the times prescribed and with law enforcement agencies designated under that Act;
        (2)  Complies with the requirements of paragraph
    
(a)(5) of Section 5-4-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections relating to the submission of blood specimens for genetic marker grouping by persons seeking transfer to or residency in Illinois; and
        (3) Signs a written form approved by the Department
    
of Corrections which, at a minimum, includes the substance of this Section or a summary of it and an acknowledgement that he or she agrees to abide by the conditions set forth in that document and this Section.
(Source: P.A. 92-571, eff. 6-26-02.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-12

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-12) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-12)
    Sec. 3-3-12. Parole Outside State. The Prisoner Review Board may assign a non-resident person or a person whose family, relatives, friends or employer reside outside of this State, to a person, firm or company in some state other than Illinois, to serve his parole or mandatory supervised release pursuant to the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision. An inmate so released shall make regular monthly reports in writing to the Department or supervising authority, obey the rules of the Board, obey the laws of such other state, and in all respects keep faithfully his parole or mandatory supervised release agreement until discharged. Should such person violate his agreement, he shall from the date of such violation be subject to the provisions of Section 3-3-9.
(Source: P.A. 92-571, eff. 6-26-02.)

730 ILCS 5/3-3-13

    (730 ILCS 5/3-3-13) (from Ch. 38, par. 1003-3-13)
    Sec. 3-3-13. Procedure for Executive Clemency.
    (a) Petitions seeking pardon, commutation, or reprieve shall be addressed to the Governor and filed with the Prisoner Review Board. The petition shall be in writing and signed by the person under conviction or by a person on his behalf. It shall contain a brief history of the case, the reasons for seeking executive clemency, and other relevant information the Board may require.
    (a-5) After a petition has been denied by the Governor, the Board may not accept a repeat petition for executive clemency for the same person until one full year has elapsed from the date of the denial. The Chairman of the Board may waive the one-year requirement if the petitioner offers in writing new information that was unavailable to the petitioner at the time of the filing of the prior petition and which the Chairman determines to be significant. The Chairman also may waive the one-year waiting period if the petitioner can show that a change in circumstances of a compelling humanitarian nature has arisen since the denial of the prior petition.
    (b) Notice of the proposed application shall be given by the Board to the committing court and the state's attorney of the county where the conviction was had.
    (c) The Board shall, if requested and upon due notice, give a hearing to each application, allowing representation by counsel, if desired, after which it shall confidentially advise the Governor by a written report of its recommendations which shall be determined by majority vote. The Board shall meet to consider such petitions no less than 4 times each year.
    Application for executive clemency under this Section may not be commenced on behalf of a person who has been sentenced to death without the written consent of the defendant, unless the defendant, because of a mental or physical condition, is incapable of asserting his or her own claim.
    (d) The Governor shall decide each application and communicate his decision to the Board which shall notify the petitioner.
    In the event a petitioner who has been convicted of a Class X felony is granted a release, after the Governor has communicated such decision to the Board, the Board shall give written notice to the Sheriff of the county from which the offender was sentenced if such sheriff has requested that such notice be given on a continuing basis. In cases where arrest of the offender or the commission of the offense took place in any municipality with a population of more than 10,000 persons, the Board shall also give written notice to the proper law enforcement agency for said municipality which has requested notice on a continuing basis.
    (e) Nothing in this Section shall be construed to limit the power of the Governor under the constitution to grant a reprieve, commutation of sentence, or pardon.
(Source: P.A. 89-112, eff. 7-7-95; 89-684, eff. 6-1-97.)