Illinois General Assembly - Representative Biography
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

WARNING - You have selected a biography page from a previous Illinois General Assembly. The information presented on this page may no longer be accurate. Please click here for the current Illinois General Assembly biography information.

Senator Cristina Castro (D) - Previous General Assembly (101st)
22nd District

Photograph of Senator  Cristina Castro (D)

Springfield Office:
121D Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-7746
District Office:
164 Division Street
Suite 102
Elgin, IL 60120
(847) 214-8864
(847) 214-8867 FAX
Years served: 2017- Present

Committee assignments: Appropriations I; Commerce and Economic Development; Committee of the Whole; Energy and Public Utilities; Labor; Revenue (Chair); Transportation; Veterans Affairs (Vice-Chair); Opioid Crisis Abatement Spec. Com.; Subcommittee on Special Issues (RE) (Sub-Chair); Pensions; Government Accountability/Ethics.

Biography: Born and raised in Elgin; Bachelor of Science and Master of Business Administration, Northern Illinois University; Associate of Science, Elgin Community College; Served on Kane County Board; First elected to the Senate in 2016; Resides in Elgin with husband Joe McKeown and their three dogs.

Associated Senator(s): Fred Crespo
 Anna Moeller