Bill Status of SB1143  98th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Linda Holmes - Cristina H. Pacione-Zayas - Michael E. Hastings - Christopher Belt - Omar Aquino, David Koehler, Robert Peters, Ram Villivalam, Julie A. Morrison, Cristina Castro, Napoleon Harris, III, Robert F. Martwick, Patrick J. Joyce, John Connor, Elgie R. Sims, Jr., Meg Loughran Cappel, Rachelle Crowe, Suzy Glowiak Hilton, Karina Villa, Doris Turner, Scott M. Bennett, Mike Simmons, Steve Stadelman, Sara Feigenholtz, Melinda Bush, Celina Villanueva, Laura Fine, Ann Gillespie and Bill Cunningham

House Sponsors
(Rep. Janet Yang Rohr, Sue Scherer, Deb Conroy, Elizabeth Hernandez, Curtis J. Tarver, II, Anthony DeLuca, Maurice A. West, II, Dagmara Avelar, Sonya M. Harper, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr. and Sam Yingling)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 610/15from Ch. 120, par. 467.15

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Messages Tax Act. Makes a technical change in a Section concerning the short title.

Senate Floor Amendment No. 1
Deletes reference to:
35 ILCS 610/15from Ch. 120, par. 467.15
Adds reference to:
35 ILCS 5/225

Replaces everything after the enacting clause. Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act. Increases the maximum amount of the credit for instructional materials and supplies from $250 for taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 2023 to $300 for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/25/2021SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Don Harmon
  2/25/2021SenateFirst Reading
  2/25/2021SenateReferred to Assignments
  3/17/2021SenateAssigned to Executive
  3/24/2021SenateDo Pass Executive; 016-000-000
  3/24/2021SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 25, 2021
  3/25/2021SenateSecond Reading
  3/25/2021SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading April 13, 2021
  4/23/2021SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As April 30, 2021
  4/30/2021SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As May 21, 2021
  5/21/2021SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As May 31, 2021
  5/31/2021SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments
  2/22/2022SenateApproved for Consideration Assignments
  2/22/2022SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading February 23, 2022
  2/22/2022SenateChief Sponsor Changed to Sen. Linda Holmes
  2/22/2022SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Filed with Secretary by Sen. Linda Holmes
  2/22/2022SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Referred to Assignments
  2/22/2022SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Assignments Refers to Revenue
  2/23/2022SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Recommend Do Adopt Revenue; 010-000-000
  2/23/2022SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina H. Pacione-Zayas
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Robert Peters
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ram Villivalam
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Julie A. Morrison
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Napoleon Harris, III
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael E. Hastings
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Christopher Belt
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Robert F. Martwick
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Patrick J. Joyce
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John Connor
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Meg Loughran Cappel
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Rachelle Crowe
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Suzy Glowiak Hilton
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Karina Villa
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Doris Turner
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Scott M. Bennett
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mike Simmons
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Omar Aquino
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steve Stadelman
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sara Feigenholtz
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Melinda Bush
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Celina Villanueva
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura Fine
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ann Gillespie
  2/24/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Cunningham
  2/24/2022SenateRecalled to Second Reading
  2/24/2022SenateSenate Floor Amendment No. 1 Adopted; Holmes
  2/24/2022SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading
  2/24/2022SenateThird Reading - Passed; 054-000-000
  2/25/2022HouseArrived in House
  2/25/2022HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/25/2022HouseFirst Reading
  2/25/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/7/2022HouseAlternate Chief Sponsor Changed to Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  3/7/2022HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  3/10/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  3/10/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  3/10/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/10/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  3/10/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Anthony DeLuca
  3/14/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  3/21/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  3/25/2022HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/28/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  3/28/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  1/10/2023SenateSession Sine Die