Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of HB4604
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB4604  94th General Assembly


Rep. Ruth Munson

Filed: 3/1/2006





09400HB4604ham001 LRB094 18029 BDD 56827 a


2     AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 4604 by replacing
3 everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4     "Section 5. The Department of Commerce and Economic
5 Opportunity Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois is
6 amended by adding Section 605-407 as follows:
7     (20 ILCS 605/605-407 new)
8     Sec. 605-407. New Generation Manufacturing Competitiveness
9 Council.
10     (a) The New Generation Manufacturing Competitiveness
11 Council is created within the Department for the purpose of
12 advocating, coordinating, and implementing policies to help
13 manufacturers in the State compete in the global marketplace.
14     (b) The Council shall consist of 19 members, as follows:
15         (1) the Director, or his or her designee, who shall
16     serve, ex officio, as the chairperson of the Council;
17         (2) seven members who are manufacturing executives of
18     Illinois-based businesses, one from a business that is
19     headquartered within the City of Chicago, 4 from businesses
20     that are headquartered within Cook County (outside of the
21     City of Chicago) or within Lake, McHenry, DuPage, Kane, or
22     Will counties, and 2 from businesses that are headquartered
23     outside of the Chicagoland area;
24         (3) two members from organizations representing



09400HB4604ham001 - 2 - LRB094 18029 BDD 56827 a

1     manufacturers, which may include, but not be limited to,
2     the Illinois Manufacturers Association, the Alliance for
3     Illinois Manufacturing, the Illinois State Chamber of
4     Commerce, and the Tooling and Manufacturing Association;
5         (4) two members employed by a community college in the
6     State, one of which is located within the Chicagoland area
7     and the other of which is located outside of the
8     Chicagoland area;
9         (5) two members employed by a research university in
10     the State, one of which is located within the Chicagoland
11     area and the other of which is located outside of the
12     Chicagoland area;
13         (6) one member from a for-profit institution of higher
14     education in the State; and
15         (7) four members appointed, one each, by the President
16     of the Senate, the Minority Leader of the Senate, the
17     Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the Minority
18     Leader of the House of Representatives.
19 The Director must appoint the members to the Council set forth
20 under items (2) through (6) of this subsection, and each of the
21 members set forth under item (2) must be appointed from a
22 business firm with not less than 40 and not more than 100
23 employees and with annual revenues of not less than $3,000,000
24 and not more than $22,500,000. For the purpose of this
25 subsection, "Chicagoland area" means the Counties of Cook,
26 Lake, McHenry, DuPage, Kane, and Will.
27     (c) The members of the Council shall serve without
28 compensation, but may be reimbursed for their reasonable
29 expenses from funds appropriated for that purpose.
30     (d) In performing its duties and functions under this
31 Section, the Council must study and develop procedures to be
32 used by the State to:
33         (1) create conditions for economic growth and
34     manufacturing investment;



09400HB4604ham001 - 3 - LRB094 18029 BDD 56827 a

1         (2) identify new regional, national, and international
2     markets;
3         (3) strengthen education, retraining, and economic
4     diversification in the State;
5         (4) partner with educational and technological
6     institutions;
7         (5) increase research and development and encourage
8     innovation;
9         (6) assist manufacturers in the State to retool for new
10     products; and
11         (7) develop a technology transfer and
12     commercialization program.
13     (e) The Department must provide administrative and
14 technical assistance to the Council. The Council shall meet at
15 the call of the chairperson and must meet at least 4 times each
16 year. The Council must present its findings and recommendations
17 to the Governor and to the General Assembly no later than
18 December 31 of each year.".