Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SB0516
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of SB0516  101st General Assembly


Rep. Robert Rita

Filed: 5/23/2020





10100SB0516ham009LRB101 04277 SMS 72470 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 516, AS AMENDED, in
3the introductory clause of Section 7, by replacing "Section
425-30" with "Sections 25-30 and 25-35"; and
5immediately below the end of Sec. 25-30 by inserting the
7    "(230 ILCS 45/25-35)
8    Sec. 25-35. Master sports wagering license issued to an
9owners licensee.
10    (a) An owners licensee may apply to the Board for a master
11sports wagering license. To the extent permitted by federal and
12State law, the Board shall actively seek to achieve racial,
13ethnic, and geographic diversity when issuing master sports
14wagering licenses to owners licensees and encourage
15minority-owned businesses, women-owned businesses,
16veteran-owned businesses, and businesses owned by persons with



10100SB0516ham009- 2 -LRB101 04277 SMS 72470 a

1disabilities to apply for licensure. Additionally, the report
2published under subsection (m) of Section 25-45 shall impact
3the issuance of the master sports wagering license to the
4extent permitted by federal and State law.
5    For the purposes of this subsection (a), "minority-owned
6business", "women-owned business", and "business owned by
7persons with disabilities" have the meanings given to those
8terms in Section 2 of the Business Enterprise for Minorities,
9Women, and Persons with Disabilities Act.
10    (b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b-5), the
11initial license fee for a master sports wagering license for an
12owners licensee is 5% of its adjusted gross receipts from the
13preceding calendar year. No initial license fee shall exceed
14$10,000,000. An owners licensee licensed on the effective date
15of this Act shall pay the initial master sports wagering
16license fee by July 1, 2021 2020. The master sports wagering
17license is valid for 4 years.
18    (b-5) For an owners licensee licensed after the effective
19date of this Act, the master sports wagering license fee shall
20be $5,000,000, but the amount shall be adjusted 12 months after
21the owners licensee begins gambling operations under the
22Illinois Gambling Act based on 5% of its adjusted gross
23receipts from the first 12 months of gambling operations. The
24master sports wagering license is valid for 4 years.
25    (c) The owners licensee may renew the master sports
26wagering license for a period of 4 years by paying a $1,000,000



10100SB0516ham009- 3 -LRB101 04277 SMS 72470 a

1renewal fee to the Board.
2    (d) An owners licensee issued a master sports wagering
3license may conduct sports wagering:
4        (1) at its facility in this State that is authorized to
5    conduct gambling operations under the Illinois Gambling
6    Act; and
7        (2) over the Internet or through a mobile application.
8    (e) The sports wagering offered over the Internet or
9through a mobile application shall only be offered under either
10the same brand as the owners licensee is operating under or a
11brand owned by a direct or indirect holding company that owns
12at least an 80% interest in that owners licensee on the
13effective date of this Act.
14    (f) Until issuance of the first license under Section
1525-45, an individual must create a sports wagering account in
16person at a facility under paragraph (1) of subsection (d) to
17participate in sports wagering offered over the Internet or
18through a mobile application.
19(Source: P.A. 101-31, eff. 6-28-19.)".